The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) assesses the English language proficiency of people who want to study or work where English is used as the language of communication. IELTS tests are held in over 1,000 locations across the world with tests up to four times a month.

IELTS tests all four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking. The IELTS Speaking test is a face-to-face interview with a certified Examiner. It is interactive and as close to a real-life situation as a test can get.

IELTS test takers can choose between two versions of the test – Academic or General Training – depending on their academic or professional aims, or visa requirements. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking components but different Reading and Writing components. IELTS is jointly managed by

University of Cambridge (ESOL Examinations)

British Council

IDP Education Australia

IELTS assesses the language ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is the language of communication.

IELTS measures the four language skills

  • Listening
  • Academic Reading
  • General Training Reading
  • Academic Writing
  • General Training Writing
  • Speaking

Listening Section

  • Listening section takes 30 minutes with 40 questions in 4 sections
  • Ten minutes time is given to transform the answers to an answer sheet
  • Reading Section

    Reading section takes 60 minutes time in which 40 questions are asked based on 3 reading passages with a total of 2,000 to 2,750 words Writing Section

    In the Writing Section you have to write essays of 2 given tasks in 60 min. Task - 1: You have to write an essay of 150 words in 20 min. Task - 2: You have to write an essay of 250 words in 40 min.

    Speaking Section

    The speaking module consists of an oral interview between the candidate and examiner, which takes 10-15 min.

    Academic Module

    The Academic Reading and Writing Module assess whether a student is ready to study or train in the medium of English at an undergraduate or post graduate level. General Training Module General Training is suitable for candidates who are going to English Speaking countries to undertake work experience or immigration purposes to Australia, Canada and New Zealand. TOEFL The TOEFL iBT® (Internet-Based TOEFL) scores will provide accurate information about your ability to participate and succeed in academic studies in an English-speaking environment. The TOEFL iBT will test English language skills in four areas, and your TOEFL score report will contain five scores: one total score on a scale of 0 to 120, and four skill scores, each on a scale of 0 to 30.

  • Listening (0 to 30 points)
  • Reading (0 to 30 points)
  • Speaking (0 to 30 points)
  • Writing (0 to 30 points)
  • Total Score (0 to 120 points)
  • Your scores will be available online 15 business days after you take the TOEFL test. You will be able to view them for free (as will the schools you chose to receive your scores). You’ll also be mailed a paper copy of your score report 15 business days after your test date. Due to the gradual phasing in of the TOEFL iBT, if you take the computer-based (CBT) or paper-based TOEFL (PBT), your scores will be valid for two years after the date you take your TOEFL test. For a while, anyone who has taken more than one form of the test will receive a TOEFL score report with two or three sets of scores reported on the three different score scales. Scores for the new Internet-based test will appear as TOEFL iBT to distinguish them from the CBT and PBT scores. TOEFL iBT Test Structure


    Main Background

    Color Scheme